Chesapeake Lights is operating from their new location at
Bay Bridge Marina at 357 Pier 1 Rd. Stevensville, MD 21663 next to Hemingway’s Restaurant.
413.835.1630 – email@example.com
Embark on a Voyage of Discovery with Chesapeake Lights!
You will be taken back through the storied history of the Chesapeake Bay lighthouses aboard MV Sharps Island. Four different Chesapeake Lights trips accommodate any schedule and all levels of interest. Each includes a narrated recounting of The Bay’s history as well as informed local insights about its fragile and beautiful ecosystem.
Begin your weekend with a 2 hour on the water trip to visit Bloody Point Lighthouse and Thomas Point Lighthouse. We catch the sun set as we return to Kent Island. This trip runs every Friday evening beginning April 30 through October 1. Departure times vary with Sunset times so check the trip schedule for exact departure times. Departure is from Bay Bridge Marina at 357 Pier 1 Rd. Stevensville, MD 21663 next to Hemingway’s Restaurant.
$55 pp + tax and gratuity. Children 12 and under half price.
(BYO wine down on the Chesapeake)
PASSAGE TO “5”
Visit 5 historic famous Chesapeake Bay Lighthouses. Sharps Island, Bloody Point, Thomas Point, Sandy Point, and Baltimore Light can be seen in detail ONLY by boat. We provide close up photo ops and a comprehensive narrative history of every light. This trip also passes under the Bay Bridge, an interesting experience in itself. Departure is from Bay Bridge Marina at 357 Pier 1 Rd. Stevensville, MD 21663 next to Hemingway’s Restaurant.
$80pp + tax and gratuity. Children 12 and under half price.
NORTHERN CHESAPEAKE LIGHTHOUSE EXPEDITION
This all day trip visits 10 unique light structures on the Northern Chesapeake Bay. You will experience the pristine Eastern Shore and the heavy industrial area of Sparrows Point. We stop for lunch at Tolchester Beach around noon and return to Kent Island in late afternoon.
$165pp + tax and gratuity. Children 12 and under half price.
SOUTHERN CHESAPEAKE LIGHTHOUSE EXPEDITION
Passengers on this 2 day trip will see 13 mid and southern bay lighthouses and structures. First day lunch will be on historic Tangier Island, where you will be able to choose between 4 restaurants and tour their Museum. We overnight in the quaint town of Onancock Virginia which has a number of fine restaurants and B&B’s. The second day we pass North through Tangier Sound and have a box lunch aboard the Sharps Island. All of the lights we visit can only be seen by boat. This trip is a mid to high level adventure experience. It has been described as the “Best Lighthouse experience on Chesapeake Bay” by seasoned lighthouse visitors.
$275pp +tax and gratuity.
— Meals and accommodations not included. The cost of the box lunch is $12pp. We will provide a list of recommended B&B’sand restaurants.
The Lighthouses of the Mid-Chesapeake Bay
Bloody Point Bar
Located of the southern tip of Kent Island, Maryland. It was commissioned on Oct. 1, 1882. Almost from day one, the action of the tides caused the caisson to start leaning. Work was done in 1883 and 1885 to straighten and stabilize the light. In 1960, the Coast Guard spend six hours fighting a fire in the lighthouse. The interior was eventually cleaned out and the light automated. The light is a caisson-type, rust red in color.
The Baltimore Light guards the entrance to the Baltimore Harbor. The cylindrical caisson foundation was built in 1904 at the Mouth of the Magothy River. It is a white two story brick lighthouse, and was the last lighthouse built on the Chesapeake Bay. Today, the lighthouse is privately owned.
Thomas Point Shoal
Located just north of the mouth of the south river, south of Annapolis. It is probably the most recognized lighthouse in the Chesapeake Bay. It is the only screw-pile type light on the bay in it’s original position and is the 3rd
light used to mark the shoal. Thomas Point was commissioned in November 1875. Heavy rip rap has been placed around the light to fend off ice. The lighthouse was manned until 1986 and was the first lighthouse on the bay to be fully automated. It has a bright red roof white sides. It is so well maintained and in such perfect condition- like it is waiting for its keeper to return.
Sandy Point Light
Located at the southern mouth of the Magothy River, just off Sandy Point State Park and clearly visible from the Bay Bridge. It is a caisson light with an octagonal brick dwelling and tower. Originally it was requested a screw-pile light be built in this area. But problems with winter ice and the screwpiles had developed so additional funds were requested for a caisson. No more money was available so they compromised. They built a caisson foundation, sunk it, and then built a smaller less expensive brick tower on it. It was first lit on October of 1883. Sandy Point is a bright red light with a white roof.
Craighill Channel Upper Range
Located at the Mouth of the Patapsco River. The Craighill channel cuts about five miles off the southern approach to Baltimore, entering Brewerton Channel (the main Patapsco/Baltimore Channel). The front light is a brick octagonal tower, painted red and white. The rear is a pyramidal iron skeleton tower. They were commissioned in 1886 and both have fixed red lights.
Craighill Channel Lower Range
Commissioned in 1873 using temporary lights and was fully completed in 1875. It is the first caisson light built in the United States. It has a circular dwelling and tower.The Craighill Channel lower range rear light, sits on a shoal near the end of Hart Island. Due to the conditions of the bottom of the bay in this location a cofferdam was built, piles were driven and granite supporting piers were laid. On these a pyramidal iron skeleton tower was erected. This is a unique style for the Chesapeake Bay. It is 105 feet tall and is red at the top and white at the bottom.
Located outside the mouth of the gunpowder river. Poole’s Island was settled and farmed as early as 1808. It is the 4th oldest lighthouse on the bay (Cape Henry, Old Point Comfort, & New Point Comfort preceded it) and the oldest lighthouse in Maryland. It was commissioned in 1825 and is a white conical tower. The Army purchased the island in 1917 and it was made part of Aberdeen Proving grounds.
Sharps Island Light
Located off the entrance to the Choptank River, approximately 4 miles from the the southern most tip of Tilghman Island. It is a cast iron cassion filled with concrete with a brick lined cast iron tower built on top. It was first lit in February of 1882. The previous light on this spot was a screw pile light completed in 1865. It lasted until February 10, 1881 when, during a winter thaw, the wind driven ice swept the building from the screw pile and it floated 5 miles down the bay, with the keeper inside. It ran aground and the keeper escaped. In the winter of 1976-1977, severe ice flows tilted the tower 15 degrees.